Anglo-Saxons: brave, resourceful and sexy!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
SUTTON HOO HELMET

Hello,again!
People often ask me what made me start writing about the Anglo-Saxons. Well, I did study the language at university as part of my course in English, though then our lecturer tended to concentrate on the heroic verse and religious texts.

Battles and monsters are exciting, of course, but we did find the archbishop’s sermons a bit of a turn-off. It was only later that I discovered a group of poems which revealed that our ancestors were sexy, had problems with relationships, and had to be brave and resourceful.

When I retired from teaching, I became a volunteer at a world-famous Anglo-Saxon site near where I live. It is Sutton Hoo, where the remains of a ninety-foot-long ship were found in 1939, with fabulous and priceless treasures buried with the king, under a great mound by the River Deben.

Hoo means a headland or promontory. Ours is a hill of sand, covered with heathland, where the mounds of many kings would rise in the landscape, visible from the water and making a statement of the power of these kings. It is an inspirational place.

I became an active member of the Sutton Hoo Society (see http://www.suttonhoo.org) and am a Guide for the National Trust, which now owns and runs the site (see http://www.nationaltrust.org.uk/suttonhoo).

My first historical novel, Storm Frost, is based on those ‘sexy’ poems, which tell the earliest love story in English. Niartha, my heroine, is indeed resourceful and brave. Brightfire is the sequel but can stand alone. It is based more on the history of the great King Raedwald of Sutton Hoo, told by the Venerable Bede. I’ll tell you about him another time! Raedwald, Niartha and her son, Ricberht, the king’s jewel-smith, have to cope with the incoming of Christianity and the jealousy of the king’s son, the vicious Eorpwald.

I published independently, with AuthorHouse, which has provided expertise and support, though they are expensive. I have had reviews, promotional videos of both books, valuable help with publicity, and even a screenplay to offer to potential directors. If you would like to discover more, do contact me through commenting here on the blog, sending me a tweet at @pmsabinmoore, or messaging me on my Facebook fan page.

This has been an exciting time for me, developing not only my love of this historical period — the early 7th century in East Anglia, England — but also as an author expanding my knowledge about the publishing world, as well as putting into practice the writing skills I used to encourage as an English teacher.

I hope you like the photo of the iconic helmet above, which hangs outside the Exhibition Hall at Sutton Hoo. It symbolises, I feel, the mystery and power of the Anglo-Saxons and the great King Raedwald of Sutton Hoo.

Leave a comment